Iconic British sweets Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are officially going vegan, according to Vegan Food UK.
Vegan Food UK is an online organization sharing vegan food news, reviews, vlogs, and more. It operates across multiple social media platforms, with a Facebook group, Facebook page, YouTube channel, and Instagram account.
It revealed the news in an Instagram post shared earlier today, in which it also revealed that Jelly Tots sweets – also made by Rowntree’s and already suitable for vegans – will soon boast new packaging which says they are vegan-friendly.
Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles – which were developed by confectioner Henry Rowntree alongside his brother Joseph, and French confectioner August Claude Gaget more than 130-years-ago – contain gelatine, meaning they are not suitable for vegans or vegetarians.
But according to VeganFoodUK, the new recipe will be free-from animal ingredients.
Sharing an image of the new packaging, the organization wrote: “BREAKING: Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are officially going vegan. We have evidence that Rowntree’s Fruit Pastilles are going vegan, with new vegan labeling. Swipe left to see that Rowntree’s Jelly Tots will also get new vegan labeling too.”
The group reminded shoppers to make sure they check the packaging on the sweets before buying, to ensure they pick up the new vegan recipe pastilles.